

## SCHOOL PLACEMENT PANEL

# **MINUTES**

## **12 FEBRUARY 2014**

Chairman: \* Councillor Mrs Camilla Bath

Councillors: \* Raj Ray

**Co-optees:** † Mr E Lumley – Park High School

† Ms L Rowlands – Canons High School \* Mrs A Winstrom – Whitchurch First School

\* Denotes Member present

† Denotes apologies received

#### 418. Attendance by Reserve Members

**RESOLVED:** To note that there were no Reserve Members in attendance at this meeting.

### 419. Declarations of Interest

**RESOLVED:** To note that the following interests were declared:

#### Agenda Item 8 – Admission to County Schools

Councillor Mrs Camilla Bath declared a non-pecuniary interest in that she was a governor of Whitchurch First and Nursery School, St George's RC Primary School and Harrow High Academy. She would remain in the room for the consideration of any cases relating to these schools.

Councillor Raj Ray declared a non-pecuniary interest in that he was a governor of Kingsley Primary School and Shaftesbury High School. He would remain in the room for the consideration of any cases relating to these schools.

Mrs A Winstrom declared a pecuniary interest in that she was Headteacher at Whitchurch First School and Nursery. She would leave the room during the consideration of any cases relating to the school.

#### 420. Minutes

**RESOLVED:** That consideration of the minutes of the meeting held on 29 January 2014, be deferred to the next meeting.

#### 421. Public Questions

**RESOLVED:** To note that no public questions were put, or petitions or deputations received at this meeting.

#### 422. Exclusion of the Press and Public

**RESOLVED:** That, in accordance with Part I of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item for the reason set out below:

<u>Item</u>	<u>Title</u>	Reason
8.	Admission to County Schools	Information under paragraph 1 (contains information relating to any individual).

#### 423. Admission to County Schools

In accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, cases P877-P916 were admitted late to the agenda to allow the Panel to allocate an appropriate place to the applicants.

On 12 February 2014, there were 30 children for whom admissions staff could make no reasonable offer of a school place. The School Placement Panel was requested to recommend to the Corporate Director of Children and Families to authorise the admission of these pupils to a school where no places existed in the relevant year group.

**Resolved to RECOMMEND:** (to the Corporate Director of Children and Families)

That offers of admission to schools be made as follows:

Reference	Year Group	Admitting School
P876	Reception	Priestmead Primary School & Nursery
P877	Reception	Marlborough Primary School
P878	Reception	Welldon Park Infant & Nursery School

P879	Reception	withdrawn
P880	Reception	Grange Primary School
P881	Reception	withdrawn
P882	Reception	Cedars Manor School
P883	Reception	Marlborough Primary School
P884	Reception	Withdrawn
P885	Reception	Kenmore Park Infant & Nursery School
P886	Reception	Newton Farm Nursery, Infant & Junior School
P887	1	Norbury School
P888	1	withdrawn
P889	1	Weald Infant & Nursery School
P890	1	Glebe Primary School
P891	2	Elmsgrove Primary School & Nursery
P892	2	Welldon Park Infant & Nursery School
P893	2	Earlsmead Primary School
P894	2	Kenmore Park Infant & Nursery School
P895	2	Elmsgrove Primary School & Nursery
P896	2	withdrawn
P897	2	Glebe Primary School
P898	3	Norbury School
P899	3	withdrawn
P900	3	withdrawn
P901	3	Kenmore Park Junior School
P902	3	Priestmead Primary School & Nursery
P903	3	Stanburn Primary School
P904	3	Stag Lane Junior School
P905	4	Norbury School
P906	4	withdrawn
P907	4	Marlborough Primary School
P908	4	Kenmore Park Junior School
P909	4	Elmgrove Primary School & Nursery
P910	5	withdrawn
P911	5	Kenmore Park Junior School
P912	5	Priestmead Primary School & Nursery

P913	5	Aylward Primary School	
P914	5	Weald Junior School	
P915	6	withdrawn	
P916	6	withdrawn	

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 10.10 am, closed at 10.55 am).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR MRS CAMILLA BATH Chairman